Home | Contact | Lanzarote Forum | Lanzarote Events Guide | Photo Gallery | Advertise your Business
It is currently Sat Feb 24, 2018 2:11 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: LOOKING FOR WORK AND ACCOMODATION
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 2:25 pm 

I am 37 years old and looking to move to lanzarote. I have a 12 year old boy so would need to be close to english speaking school.
Work wise I have 18 years experience in sales, both telesales and also customer service also computor literate i also have bar work experience so looking to work in either of those industries.
Is there anyone who could meet these requirements or know of where I would start to look please. I have holidayed to lanzaote and completeley fell inlove with the people and island itself....I need to be there! :D

Post subject: Re: LOOKING FOR WORK AND ACCOMODATION
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 6:15 pm 

Hello Kelly

I think if there are any English speaking schools they will be private i.e. you will need to pay school fees. The other schools on Lanzarote will have Spanish as the first language and your son will be taught in Spanish along with the other children. He will need to learn to speak Spanish or he will not be educated.
With regard to jobs, if you can find a sales job (massive unemployment in Lanzarote) it will be poorly paid and commission only. You will be very lucky to find a full time job in customer services. Very few bar jobs.

Also you should get advice on health care, unlike us dozy Brits, you may find free healthcare hard to find.
My advice, stay in the UK - plenty of jobs, free health care, education etc and you and your son will be happy.

Post subject: Re: LOOKING FOR WORK AND ACCOMODATION
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 6:44 pm 

Hi
First the bad news.....English speaking schools are private schools expect to pay around 1000€ plus per term and additional cost of uniform (usually required) plus cost of all books and materials for use in school